I.—PHYSICAL CHARACTERISTICS OF CANADA.

I.—GEOGRAPHICAL FEATURES.

1.—General Description.

Situation.—The Dominion of Canada comprises the whole northern half of the North American continent except the United States territory of Alaska, and Labrador, a dependency of the island colony of Newfoundland. It is bounded on the west by the Pacific ocean and Alaska, the boundary with which was in part determined by the award of the Alaska Boundary Tribunal signed at Washington, Oct. 20, 1903; on the south by the 49th parallel, the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence river and additional lines set out by the Ashburton Treaty, signed Aug. 9, 1842; and on the east by the Atlantic ocean, the gulf of St. Lawrence, the undefined Labrador boundary and Davis strait. Northern boundaries have yet to be fixed by further exploration, but cape Columbia in north latitude $83^{\circ} 5'$ is the most northerly known point of land in the Dominion. The southernmost point is Middle island in lake Erie, in north latitude $41^{\circ} 41'$, while from east to west the Dominion extends from about west longitude 57° —the approximate boundary with Newfoundland—to west longitude 141°, the boundary with Alaska. Canadian territory thus extends over 84° of longitude and 42° of latitude.

Area.—The area of the Dominion (including an estimate of 500,000 square miles for the provisional district of Franklin) is 3,729,665 square miles, a figure which may be compared with that of 3,743,529 square miles for the United States and its dependent territories, 3,776,700 the total area of Europe, 2,974,581 the total area of Australia, 4,277,170 the total area of China inclusive of dependencies, 3,275,510 the area of Brazil, 1,802,577 the area of India, 121,633 the area of the United Kingdom and 13,424,519, the total area of the British Empire. By comparison with the last two figures Canada is seen to be over 30 times as large as the United Kingdom and to comprise almost 28 p.c. of the total area of the British Empire.

Political Subdivisions .-- Canada is divided from east to west into the following provinces:--the Atlantic Maritime provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, all three comparatively small in area; Quebec, covering a strip south of the St. Lawrence and the whole territory north of the St. Lawrence and east of the Ottawa to Hudson strait; Ontario, extending northward from the Great Lakes to Hudson bay; Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, the provinces of the interior continental plain, extending from 49° to 60° north latitude; and British Columbia, the province of the western mountain and Pacific coast region, also extending from 49° to 60°. North of the 60th parallel of latitude, the country is divided into the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories, the latter area composed of the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin. Ĩn actual area the three Maritime provinces, covering a total land area of 51,163 square miles, make up but 1.4 p.c. of the total land area of the country. Quebec, the largest in area of all the provinces, and Ontario cover 19.45 and 10.15 p.c. of the country's aggregate land area respectively. The four western provinces. taken in order as one proceeds west, constitute 6.4, 6.7, 7.0 and 9.8 p.c., the Yukon 5.7 p.c., Franklin 13.8 p.c., Keewatin 5.7 p.c. and Mackenzie 13.9 p.c. of the land area of the Dominion. A brief description of each of the provinces is appended.

84111---1